top of page
Writer's pictureCrystal Redford

Upon Their Bodies the Fire Had No Power

"Upon whose bodies the fire had no power." Daniel 3: 25


I once described myself as a pile of ashes with only an ember remaining. My body had been raped, used up, eaten by my dad and others. I saw myself as tattered and rotting.


But it was never true. Just as Shadrach, Meshach, and Abed-nego passed through Nebuchadnezzar's furnace unharmed, not even smelling of smoke, so I passed through years of rape. That little girl, though bruised and bleeding and terrified, never stopped loving. She retreated inside me, held onto those memories like hugging a ticking bomb. But we emerged from that fire stronger than we went in.


"Blessed be ... God." (Daniel 3:28)

For He had always been in the fire with me.

He says, "I am he; yea, I am he that comforteth you. Behold, who art thou that thou shouldst be afraid of man?" (2 Nephi 8:12)

He promises: "Joy and gladness shall be found therein." (2 Nephi 8:3)


I testify that passing through fire unharmed is not only possible, it is our destiny. Our Father in Heaven made us of stronger stuff than we suppose. He has done it with me. He will do it with you too.

Ember facing the monsters of our childhood.



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

To the hurt little boys

Hey, if you want to buy the purple mermaid folder, Buy it. It's really okay. I'm so sorry I said it wasn't. Do not choose the cheaper...

Comments


bottom of page