top of page
Writer's pictureCrystal Redford

The God of Scars Who Drank No Vinegar

My Savior is a God of scars who drank no vinegar. He knows deep suffering, and yet never gave in to bitterness. He clearly chose and clearly gave His life. After experiencing PTSD and amnesia, I understand a little tiny bit more how incredible His sacrifice was.


"'My God, my God, why hast thou forsaken me?'

And one ran and filled a sponge full of vinegar, and put it on a reed, and gave him to drink."

Mark 15: 34, 36


"They gave him vinegar to drink mingled with gall: and when he had tasted thereof, he would not drink.

And they crucified him."

Matthew 27: 34-35


"And it came to pass that the Lord spake unto them saying:

Arise and come forth unto me, that ye may thrust your hands into my side, and also that ye may feel the prints of the nails in my hands and in my feet, that ye may know that I am the God of Israel, and the God of the whole earth, and have been slain for the sins of the world."

3 Nephi 11: 12-14


"The other gods, they were strong, but thou did stumble to a throne and no other God has scars, but thou alone. Our Savior is a God of scars.'

He knows what it's like to suffer deeply and painfully ... let's not forget Friday and jump right to Sunday, because we all go through our Fridays and Saturdays before we get to our Sundays."

Anthony Sweat, BYU Professor

Follow Him Easter 2023

Quoting a poem by Edward Sillitoe




5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

To the hurt little boys

Hey, if you want to buy the purple mermaid folder, Buy it. It's really okay. I'm so sorry I said it wasn't. Do not choose the cheaper...

Comments


bottom of page