top of page
Writer's pictureCrystal Redford

Five More Minutes of Sunshine

I looked out the window while walking on the treadmill, and I realized I could still see the trees.

The sun sets so early here in North Idaho. As early as 3:53 p.m. It was one thing to lose the bright fall foliage to feet of snow, but it was another for the sun to leave me too.

But today, I could still see the trees outside the window. It was after 4 p.m. I'd gotten maybe five more minutes of sunshine. Today, it felt like a promise.

I'd been white-knuckle clinging to patience this past few weeks. I want a house to live in, but none are working. I want to write a book, but all I felt was confusion. I want to move on with my life, but I get depression in return.

But at this moment, God is giving me five more minutes of sunshine. It makes me able to see the other small things He's given me too. A thought one day. A reassuring warmth in my chest another. And each day, the sun sets about one minute later. It's going to keep doing that until the snow melts, spring comes, and gardens can be planted again.

What God is doing with me, He is doing slow. I needed to calibrate my gratitude to one-more-minute-of-sunlight speed.


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

To the hurt little boys

Hey, if you want to buy the purple mermaid folder, Buy it. It's really okay. I'm so sorry I said it wasn't. Do not choose the cheaper...

コメント


bottom of page